Summer Game Fest and Other Events: Everything We Know So Far

The 2022 summer season video games season seems like one other unusual one for the gaming world. With out E3, as soon as once more, we will now count on a plethora of on-line reveals seeking to fill the vacuum the once-massive video games trade occasion leaves behind.

With this in thoughts, we put collectively a fast roundup of all the key reveals that we all know of to date, and so they’re developing ahead of you suppose. We’re specializing in the occasions taking place in June, however we’ll be increasing this publish to incorporate extra particulars on occasions resembling August’s Gamescom 2022, which might be again to an in-person occasion later this yr.

CNET might be actively overlaying the expansive summer season video games season, so you should definitely examine again with us as extra particulars are available. Particularly if Nintendo and PlayStation determine to carry reside occasions as nicely.

Summer season Recreation Fest – Thursday, June 9, 11 AM PST / 2 PM EST

Geoff Keighley’s rising Summer season Recreation Fest occasion has grown in scope over the past couple of years. The 2021 gathering noticed the reveal of quite a few video games, together with the primary gameplay trailer for Elden Ring.

So expectations are fairly excessive for the June 9 on-line stream — a lot with the intention to even watch it in choose IMAX theaters. In case you’re going that massive, then there should be one thing thrilling happening.

Guerrilla Collective – Saturday, June 11, 8 AM PST / 11 AM EST

The Guerilla Collective is a digital showcase specializing in the newest video games from impartial builders and different unknown creators. Lots of the video games on show in earlier years are ones that grew to become sleeper hits, such because the detective puzzle recreation Genesis Noir, dating-sim roguelike Boyfriend Dungeon, and the survival shooter Chernobylite. 

In case you’re seeking to watch a enjoyable, chill present about video games and see the creators behind them, tune in for the Guerilla Collective stream.

Healthful Direct – Saturday June 11, 9:30 AM PST / 12:30 PM EST

Whereas many livestreams function video games with violent content material or different mature themes, the Healthful Direct takes a distinct method. It focuses on video games that supply a chill, enjoyable ambiance and touches upon titles which might be approachable for everybody. 

In final yr’s stream, video games just like the Pokemon homage Ooblets and Unpacking had been massive hits, with the latter changing into considered one of CNET’s finest video games of 2021.

Future Video games Present – Saturday, June 11, 12 PM PST / 3 PM EST

Hosted by GamesRadar, the Future Video games Present has grown steadily through the years change into a reasonably vital trade showcase. In accordance with the oldsters operating this yr’s present, we will count on dozens of recent trailers and divulges from publishers like Sega, Konami, Warner Bros. Leisure, and many others. 

That is the second Future Video games Present occasion this yr, with the following one taking place once more in August round Gamescom.

Xbox & Bethesda Video games Showcase – Sunday, June 12, 10 AM PST / 1 PM EST

Although Starfield will not make a 2022 launch, we nonetheless would possibly see an look on the upcoming Xbox showcase.


Microsoft / Bethesda Recreation Studios

Together with Summer season Recreation Fest, one other stream that might probably make an enormous affect on gaming in 2021 is the official Xbox & Bethesda showcase. Not a lot is thought proper now, however many video games that seen in a latest trailer, resembling Hellblade II and Starfield, may very well be making appearances. 

Sadly, Bethesda Softworks’ Starfield and Arkane Studios’ Redfall had been each delayed to 2023, however that does not imply it will not have a exhibiting this yr. We’re feeling fairly optimistic concerning the sort of content material anticipated to be proven this yr.

PC Gaming Present – Sunday June 12, 12:30 PM PST / 3:30 PM EST

The PC Gaming Present, headed up by PC Gamer, is one other powerhouse video games occasion. This occasion particularly focuses on video games that coming to PC, together with some updates concerning the latest {hardware}.

In earlier years, we obtained to see new reveals for Dying Gentle 2, Borderlands 3, and Baldur’s Gate 3. This yr is seeking to be one thing of a wild card yr, so you should definitely tune in if PC gaming is your high precedence.

Overwatch Showcase – Thursday, June 16, actual time TBD

Following a profitable Overwatch 2 beta, Blizzard might be internet hosting an internet showcase specializing in what’s to return with the sequel to the developer’s well-liked on-line shooter. This showcase will cowl particulars on the roadmap for Overwatch 2, beta suggestions, and way more. This is hoping we will see extra of the enjoyable participant vs enemy A.I. co-operative mode that made the rounds just a few years again.

Share:

Leave a Reply

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings